backcountry n00b stuff

Minimally moderated forum for climbing related hearsay, misinformation, and lies.
Diggler

Re: backcountry n00b stuff

by Diggler » Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:15 pm

josegarcia wrote:i like playin in the snow, dude. i wanna get up in yonder backcountry and do some turns. couple questions. one, do i gotta be a “no fall” skier to have fun in the bc. i mean, everybody’s gotta start somewheres. second, there’s sooooo many options. what’s the best setup?

Just like with other aspects of being in/having fun in the mountains, I think it's a good idea (& fairly easy) to start off slowly, with a high factor of safety built into ones learning experience, & progress from there.

I'm just getting into the backcountry skiing game. I've done a few trips that were short, close to the road, & don't have much danger involved. I think that when you start looking at this game, things such as self-sufficiency (esp. with regards to the added hazards of more extreme conditions & higher difficulty of a rescue if anything goes wrong, etc.) & an understanding of potential avalanche conditions are key. Sort of like climbing, taking your setup to the resort to hone your technical skills can be a good way to improve your technique & actual ability on steeper stuff. Like climbing, this is independent of survival skills (solid pro' placement, good anchors, fast (& safe) movement over technical terrain, etc.) or good judgment. In the end, the latter skills will likely be just as, if not more, important than how good of a skier you are.

I personally like the AT setup I got last year- while one doesn't look half as stylish as a good tele skier, it is extremely functional, & does the job of efficient backcountry travel that also allows one to go on the steep terrain as well.

Good luck- I'm in the process of getting better & exploring the possibilities too (& looking forward to it!).

Sierra Ledge Rat

by Sierra Ledge Rat » Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:12 am