Camelback Mountain AZ

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Great American Southwest. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Southwest US Climbing Partners section.
surgent

Camelback Mountain AZ

by surgent » Thu Jan 31, 2013 7:00 pm

The popular west-side "Echo Canyon" approach will be closed until late 2013. The trailhead and parking area will be rebuilt. More details:

http://phoenix.gov/parks/trails/locatio ... lpark.html

Some of the trail will apparently be rebuilt or re-routed, but I am not sure to what extent. I have been hiking this trail for 20 years now, and in places it has degraded badly. My hope is they keep the rougher nature of this trail, which in places can rate low class-3, which makes it fun and gives this trail the reputation that it has. The east-side "Cholla" approach from Invergordon Road will remain open.

I expect there'll be some carry-over to the Cholla Trail and to nearby Piestewa Peak, so these already-crowded hikes will be that much more crowded.

The following user would like to thank surgent for this post
lcarreau, Sarah Simon

Tonka

Re: Camelback Mountain AZ

by Tonka » Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:05 pm

This kinda sucks! I just booked a trip to Phoenix last night and we always stay in Scottsdale and we always get skrewed out of Echo canyon due to parking or like last time a helicopter rescue. Hell, we went down to climb the Flatiron the Thanksgiving before last and a plane crashed into the route the night before which shut it down. This was a very sad event if you remember. The Echo side is much more fun and makes for a good quick workout.

MoapaPk

by MoapaPk » Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:02 pm