Zugspitze - Reintal Route - Münchner Haus

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Europe. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Europe Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
AdamW

Zugspitze - Reintal Route - Münchner Haus

by AdamW » Wed Jul 13, 2016 11:30 am

Hello,

I'm planning to climb Zugspitze next month via the Reintal route. As the two huts on this route are fully booked up, I'm hoping to stay on the top at the Münchner Haus.

I had a few questions I hoped someone with knowledge might be able to answer? Namely:

- How easy/likely is it that you can stay at the top? I know they don't take reservations on weekends. I'm relying on staying here, or arriving in time to take the train/cable car down.

- What kind of equipment is best for the Reintal route? I'm just taking the basics as I'm not a proper climber. Hoping good walking shoes and trousers should do. Would I need more?

- How quick can you make it to the top? I've read it takes 11 hours, but I'd like to do it in a shorter time.

Any tips would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Adam

rgg
Forum Moderator

Re: Zugspitze - Reintal Route - Münchner Haus

by rgg » Thu Jul 14, 2016 5:08 am

I can say little about sleeping in the Münchner Haus. After ascending the Zugspitze by the Höllental route I passed by in 2007 and didn't find the atmosphere inviting. Perhaps all the hustle and bustle on the viewing terrace next to the summit had something to do with that; it was a far cry from a normal relaxed mountain setting. The hut itself was virtually empty. It was sometime during the afternoon, so I took that as a sign that there would be plenty of room to stay if I wanted to. I didn't do that though, I descended to the Knorrhütte.