Stamina question

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
DennisK

Stamina question

by DennisK » Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:35 am

Hello all!

To begin with, I have absolutely no experience with mountaineering. This is something I've wanted to try out for a fair bit of time but did not get the opportunity until now. In a few months, I'm going to leave Denmark (I currently live here) and go to India to a mountaineering school for a few months and possibly my first expedition. I'm really excited for that.

I've been fairly active, physically. I have no consistent routine but I manage to haul myself to the gym now and then. I also practice Karate sparsely. An area I'm lacking in is stamina. I just cannot run for a long distance, I tire too soon. (I don't smoke). I'm studying the biology of exercise and breath (VO2, lactic acid, etc.)

I'm looking for ways to improve my stamina. Any suggestions would be great. Also, suppose I had to run 25 Kms up-hill bearing a 15 kilogram load. What would be a good time?

It's great finding this community.

Thanks!
Dennis.

NewDayRising

Re: Stamina question

by NewDayRising » Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:09 am

The answer is obvious. Get consistent with your cardio. Start off with 25 minutes of cardio at 60-85% of max heart rate on a treadmill. Increase the time as this becomes easier. Increase the intensity by adding incline, increasing the rate.

Do some training specific to mountaineering outdoors, loaded pack going up an incline. In other words, hiking

Not sure why you want to be RUNNING with a heavy pack? That's asking for sore knees.

The following user would like to thank NewDayRising for this post
DennisK

peninsula

by peninsula » Wed Mar 21, 2012 1:19 pm