Beginner mountaineering in California

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
no avatar
new_hiker

Beginner mountaineering in California

by new_hiker » Fri Apr 26, 2019 7:56 am

Hi all-
First I apologize to post in the general forum. I'm having trouble posting in the California region forum.

I'm in the bay area, and would like to try my first snow mountain. I have no snow experience whatsoever. This would be my first experience with Crampons, Ice axes etc. I'm thinking about Mt.Shasta via the Avalanche Gulch, with my friend who is experienced with Shasta and other mountains. From what I read, looks like area just below the Red Banks is the most dangerous part.

Is this a good start, or should I start with something else?

Thanks all for your time.

cab

Re: Beginner mountaineering in California

by cab » Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:16 pm

Avalanche Gulch on Shasta is a great place for your first crampon experience, especially if you have someone with experience with you to show you how to use your ice axe and give you a short self-arrest class.

mrchad9

by mrchad9 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:00 pm

Before Shasta I did Brokeoff Mountain in winter in Lassen Park... or could do Lassen Peak itself.

no avatar
new_hiker

by new_hiker » Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:23 am

Thanks @mrchad9 and @cab.
Planning to try it this season. Are there vertigo inducing portions on the Avalanche Gulch route? I know I have issues with vertigo, and so, I need to be careful with my choices.
Since this is my first ever snow attempt and being at higher altitude (never been over 7000 ft), I would gladly take even an attempt as a success.

Thanks!

mrchad9

by mrchad9 » Wed May 01, 2019 12:43 am