Which outfitter would you choose?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Washington and Oregon. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Pacific Northwest Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
RdC

Which outfitter would you choose?

by RdC » Fri Jan 01, 2010 4:29 am

I would like to take a skills seminar in June '10 on Rainier.

I have little climbing experience and would like to learn the basics. I chose Rainier b/c the colder and snowier (or the more glaciers) the better - I live in SoCal, so Rainier is cold ans snowy to me.

My goal is a solid introduction/foundation so I can begin getting experience on my own and become self-reliant in the mountains (e.g. Rainier, Denali, smaller peaks in Himalaya - you get the idea).

I've been researching the usual guide services that offer Rainier expedition and glacier seminars: RMI, IMG, Alpine Ascents. Prices are relatively the same.

1. Can anyone share their thoughts on the benefits of one outfitter over the other?
2. Do they all approach climbing with the same philosophy, or are they different?
3. Knowing what you know today, what are 1 or 2 things I should consider when choosing an outfitter in general?

ps. I searched this topic(s) and didn't find my answer, sorry if this is a redundant question.

Thank you and Happy New Year!!
RdC

bird

by bird » Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:37 pm

There are plenty of threads on this topic.
IMO, RMI is more of a cattle drive up the mountain. The others appear to offer more skills training. American Alpine Institute used to do a great course on the Emmons, but no longer. Their Mt. Baker skills course and climb would offer good training. I've climbed with them 2x and got a lot out of it.

no avatar
RdC

by RdC » Fri Jan 01, 2010 9:11 pm

Thanks Bird. I will check out the AAI Mt. Baker course.

Brad Marshall

Re: Which outfitter would you choose?

by Brad Marshall » Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:05 pm

RdC wrote:I would like to take a skills seminar in June '10 on Rainier.