Mont Blanc for beginners

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Europe. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Europe Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
OwenMB123

Mont Blanc for beginners

by OwenMB123 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:07 pm

Hello, I'm looking for advice on how to climb Mont Blanc as a total beginner. I do not have the money to pay for a guided trip, nor am I able to spend weeks practicing climbing other peaks in the surrounding mountains. I understand that the summit can be done in about a week, which is what I would be looking for. I do not have any experience of climbing mountains of this height, but I have done a lot of climbing in the UK and lots of hiking in the lake district, Snowdonia and the Alps. I am aware that it is like trying to run before I can walk, but I have wanted for years to climb it and never had the opportunity. This is generally just asking what the best way is to go about trying to do this, are there groups that climb it that I could go with, or other likeminded people looking to summit but don't have a team? Thank you

rgg
Forum Moderator

Re: Mont Blanc for beginners

by rgg » Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:40 pm

Climbing Mont Blanc as a total beginner might just earn you a Darwin award. If you want that, go right ahead.

Fortunately, you contradict yourself by saying that you've done a lot of climbing in the UK and lots of hiking in the lake district, Snowdonia and the Alps. That doesn't say how far off you are from climbing Mont Blanc, but it means you already have some experience, albeit not with glaciers.