Survey on Safety Equipment

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
Serl

Survey on Safety Equipment

by Serl » Tue Feb 28, 2012 4:00 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm a college student currently residing up in northern Vermont. I'm not much of a climber myself; I've done a few small tourist-y hikes, (Blue Mountain, Monadnock, etc.) but tend to stick a little closer to sea level than I'm sure most people here do. I hope to eventually tackle some more interesting locales, but my job doesn't bring in a whole lot of money and most of that is spent on tuition. So, for the most part, I'm focusing on research and general conditioning when I can, which brings me to the reason I'm here:

My university is currently running a class specifically on mountain climbing, of which I am enrolled in. I'm in the midst of writing a short research paper on safety equipment and regulations for climbers, and I was hoping to get some more personal accounts than what I can get out of an old textbook or manufacturer's website. If any of you have the time, I would very much appreciate it if you could take a minute to just answer a few questions. I'm afraid I don't have much incentive to offer other than being cited in freshman's attempt at a thesis, (i.e. no incentive whatsoever) but it would help me out a lot.
Questions are below; everything is optional. Please only fill out what you are comfortable with sharing. Thanks!

Basic Information

Name (if you wish to be cited in a way other than your username):

Weight:

Physical Height:

Name or Elevation of Childhood Town:*

*Side interest, used to determine if childhood environment impacts ability to adapt to certain levels of height while climbing- see Adaptions to Altitude: A Current Assessment by Cynthia M. Beall.

Climbing Information

Typical Carrying Capacity (if known):

Years of Experience:

Highest Recorded Personal Height:

Longest Climb (Guesstimate):