EPO for altitude

Discussion of medical or rescue topics related to climbing and mountaineering.
Ben Beckerich

EPO for altitude

by Ben Beckerich » Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:56 pm

Howdy

Illicit use of EPO being huge in the cycling world, I'm suddenly struck that I've never really heard about it used for high altitude climbing.

I'm not a medical professional, nor am I an EPO user - I'm just a non-doping amateur athlete, and so my interest in such topics is limited to stuff I read and what I've seen. But from WHAT I know, it seems like EPO could be every bit as performance-enhancing for climbers as for cyclists, probably more so. And since climbers generally aren't racing to summits, perhaps they wouldn't be so compelled to overdo it and suffer the numerous complications of hyperviscosity.

What's the collective knowledge base? Has this been seen? Dirty secret on big peaks? Weekend climbers using it on commercial trips up big peaks? ETC
where am i going... and why am i in this handbasket?

albanberg

Re: EPO for altitude

by albanberg » Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:31 pm

It seems that there would be a big performance boost just as in cycling. Maybe more so in high altitude situations. Think about some of the speed accents being made on high peaks.

ExcitableBoy

by ExcitableBoy » Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:32 pm

I think Steve House and Scott Johnson address EPO in their book. From what I've not read, it sounds like dehydration is a potential, and serious, consequence.

Ben Beckerich

by Ben Beckerich » Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:43 pm

albanberg wrote:It seems that there would be a big performance boost just as in cycling. Maybe more so in high altitude situations. Think about some of the speed accents being made on high peaks.

Actually, yea.. now that I think about it. Steck? I'm fast in the mountains, really fast... but that guy- I've wondered how the crap he does it. Hmm.....

Woodie Hopper

by Woodie Hopper » Thu Oct 30, 2014 7:08 pm