Any Suggestions for 3 Days in Wadi Rum, Jordan?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Asia. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Asia Climbing Partners section.
deep6

Any Suggestions for 3 Days in Wadi Rum, Jordan?

by deep6 » Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:00 am

i'm heading to jordan next week and planning to spend 3 days in Wadi Rum. i'm looking into what i can climb/scramble...i'm comfortable scrambling 3/4 class and top roping outdoors 5.8/5.9 since i'm a noob at this game i don't have any multi-pitch climbing exp. so my plan was to do the bedouin roads w/ a guide:

1. JEBEL RUM TRAVERSE
2. JEBEL UM-ISHRIN
3. JEBEL KHAZALI

- should i nix any of the above to do Burdah Arch or are there good top rope possibilities not to pass up?

- best place to stay in wadi rum (ie. rum village/bedouin camps)?

- recommended climbing/scrambling guides?

- costs?

- best/cheap transport to/back amman - wadi rum?

:idea: i know there are tons to do and different routes to take so just wanted to hear from those that's been out there and any suggestions/thoughts are welcome so please post up here or shoot me a PM...any help/info. about jordan/wadi rum would be much appreciated...look'n forward to the desert...mucho gracias! :D

deep6

by deep6 » Sat Oct 31, 2009 3:41 am