Are Lassen and Brokeoff still ski-able right now?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
no avatar
zbwener

Are Lassen and Brokeoff still ski-able right now?

by zbwener » Thu Apr 21, 2016 8:26 pm

Hi folks,

Was thinking about climbing Lassen and/or Brokeoff in early-mid May, and am wondering if it'd be worth it to haul the snowboard up. Anyone have insight to this?

I'm a California newbie (and not a particularly experienced mountaineer) so please lay some wisdom on me.

96avs01

Re: Are Lassen and Brokeoff still ski-able right now?

by 96avs01 » Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:45 pm

Absolutely! Getting more fresh this weekend. They had just opened the North entrance on Monday, guessing it will close again for a little while. It's got a healthy snowpack, so skiing (at least on Lassen) should be good most of May, and well into June provided we don't get a crazy uber-hot extended heatwave.

Haven't done a descent of Brokeoff, but I've boarded Lassen with both a solid and a splitboard. With a solid, your best (easiest) option will be from the summer parking lot once they plow the road that far. The N/NE aspects can be accessed from the Devastated Area much earlier, but it'll involve much more mileage. I'd say you hope they've reached the summer parking lot from the South entrance and do Lassen, if not then plan for Brokeoff unless you really want to hump that board a ways.

While you don't need a whole lot of technical mountaineering skill to get up/down Lassen, you at least should be proficient with ice axe/crampons and know self arrest techniques. And I'd hope you have a fair bit of backcountry descents and/or are solid in riding any type of snow/ice conditions. My $0.02

The following user would like to thank 96avs01 for this post
zbwener

no avatar
zbwener

by zbwener » Sat Apr 23, 2016 3:30 pm