Ecuador Volcanoes vs. Peru

Regional discussion and conditions reports for South America. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the South American Climbing Partners section.
aduris12

Ecuador Volcanoes vs. Peru

by aduris12 » Tue Feb 16, 2016 5:57 am

I am currently debating on which guided climb to pursue this summer. I have a lot of experience with winter camping and long hiking trips. I have summited both Mt. Shuksan and Mt. Baker and have completed a week-long glacier mountaineering course. Currently, I train 5-6 days a week. The plan is to head to South America to get some experience with altitude- I have not been above 12K feet. The question is, would the Ecuador Volcanoes be a better climb for me? I really would like to acclimate in Peru and climb Yanapacha/Chopicalqui but do not want to bite off more than I can chew. My ultimate goal is to climb Denali, so I am trying to take the right steps. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Adam

Poncherelo

Re: Ecuador Volcanoes vs. Peru

by Poncherelo » Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:12 am

Hello Adam, Nice project you have. I came across this article https://www.explore-share.com/blog/7-top-5-volcanoes-to-climb-in-ecuadorabout the top volcanoes to climb in Ecuador. You might find some useful info to plan your trip there. This website also lists certified mountain guides from all around the world, including in Ecuador and Peru. Enjoy !

ExcitableBoy

by ExcitableBoy » Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:07 pm

I've been planning an Andes trip myself, and this is what I have discovered in talking to people in the know. Peru is generally steeper and more technical, Ecuador generally walk up volcano type of climbs. For your goals and experience Ecuador would probably be the better bet.