Nevada Pisco Gear Questions

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
JtheChemE

Nevada Pisco Gear Questions

by JtheChemE » Sun Jan 25, 2015 3:10 pm

To preface; I am new to alpine mountaineering, only experience is numerous non-technical Colorado 14ers, both winter and summer summit. That said, my first high ascent will be a guided climb of Pisco in Peru, at 5700 m. The climb will be in late May of this year.

The summit push will be from moraine camp at ~4950m. From what I understand, the approach to moraine camp should be doable in approach shoes.

BOOTS:
The boots I have for my wife and I are, La Sporteva Nepal Evo GTX, and Salewa Pro Guide ( I also can get Pro Vertical), respectively. The Peruvian guide recommended double boot, but pragmatic local friends suggested that a single boot would be adequate, given the summit bid begins from moraine.

The price jump from single to double is substantial, so if I can get away with my current boot that would be ideal. I also want to be able to use these boots at home for all my winter shenanigans.

If you really think I need double, what is a good variety? Any thoughts on the Baruntse vs Spantik?

CRAMPON, ICE AXE
Black Diamond Sabretooth For Both
Black Diamond Raven For Both
LAYERING:
For Me:
1)Under Armor Cold Gear high neck
2)SmartWool NTS 250
3)MONT BELL Thermawrap Sport Jacket/La Sportiva Valhalla
3)Rab Microlight Parka
Backpack parka:Dynafit Cho Oyu 750

For Wife:
Same
Will this setup be warm enough? Also, is a hardhell necessary? We will also both be carrying Xenon X used for other exploits in Peru.

GLOVES:
Me: Black Diamond Guide
Her: Outdoor Research Aerete

Backpack backup: Outdoor Research Altitude Mitts

BACKPACK
Osprey Atmos for both of us

SLEEPING
Downmat 5
1200g down -30, -18, 0°C mummy bag

I've done many forum searches already, which has given me the above list as my starting point. Any updated input would be very much appreciated!