most dangerous

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
Clubbox42

Re: most dangerous

by Clubbox42 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 12:29 am

Well, I almost got attacked by a coiled rattlesnake once. I don't think I can top SLR's list there, but hey, give me a few years more, and who knows?

no avatar
Murph1

by Murph1 » Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:18 am

My most dangerous moment in my climbing career
happened early on in 1960 on Little Si a small
foothill really near Snoqualmie Pass in the Cascades east of Seattle. I was an instructor for a Tacoma Mountaineers Basic Climbing Class practice climb. Little Si has a two pitch rock faceon one side of its otherwise forested slopes. I
was belaying two students about 110' up a chimney standing on a wide ledge using a standing hip belay. I was not tied in to any
anchor as I was certain the two students were
too small in size to pull my 6'3" 185 pound frame
off the wide ledge. As I watched my first student
get ready to head up the chimney a party of three climbers above me about 70' kicked off a rock about a foot wide. They never yelled "Rock"
and the projectile hit the side of my helmet and
knocked me face down on the ledge splitting my
helmet down the left side. I won't repeat the
words I expressed in a loud voice when I regained my feet.
Lucky for all concerned I was wearing a hard
hat (uncommon in that era) and my student wasn't actually climbing in the chimney when the rock sailed down.
That was the last time I ever belayed standing without tying off to an anchor or being seated on a secure ledge.
I have had many other experiences like being
on top Sourdough Ridge in the North Cascades in a severe lightning storm and having to drop my ice axe, rack and pack and run off the ridge in
to the steep forest with crackling, light flashes,and hair standing on end.
If your luck holds, and you learn from your mistakes you make it in to your seventies!

jdzaharia

by jdzaharia » Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:50 pm