Down Midlayer and Shell

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
AustinKalb

Down Midlayer and Shell

by AustinKalb » Sat Feb 25, 2017 6:40 am

I'm pretty new to all this. I have the Patagonia Alpine Kit top base, insulation, and shell layer. They are thin, light and pretty darn warm, especially when moving. On a recent trip in the 30's and snowing the Patagonia Kit worked perfectly, if not a bit too warm.

I recently tried a Arcteryx Cerium SV Jacket. I love it, I want it, but I'm not quite sure where to use it. The Patagonia Shell is not nearly big enough to fit over it. Arcteryx says the Alpha AR Shell is a good match.

So when would I use the Arcteryx Cerium SV / Alpha AR Shell vs. The Patagonia Nano-Air Light / Patagonia M10 Shell? It would have to be really cold I suppose...

Thx
A

Tonka

Re: Down Midlayer and Shell

by Tonka » Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:54 pm

Let the elements dictate what you need. You could wish weather bad enough for some of these shells and never see it.

beean

by beean » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:05 pm

The Cerium looks damn good when you're walking to get a coffee in the morning. You'll probably never use it otherwise.

Baselayer + Softshell for moving, throw a light puffy over top for when it's cold and you're not moving, and a shell over that if it's windy. If you're too cold move faster!

This combo keeps me happy down to about -25C, I've got a mid weight puffy for colder temps or hanging out in the tent or hut.

Most big puffys are pretty windproof too, you probably won't be needing a shell over them.

ExcitableBoy

by ExcitableBoy » Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:14 am

You don't wear shells over belay parkas, you wear belay parkas on top of everything. Belay parka = big puffy e.g. 100 gram Primaloft parka or heavier, or comparable down parka. Arcteryx Cerium SV Jacket would go on top of the Patagonia Shell.

You are really over thinking this whole thing. Keep it simple: