runner thread

Tips, tricks, workouts, injury advice.
Mark Straub

by Mark Straub » Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:33 am

Ugh...I run. Unfortunately. I hate it.

High school crosscountry. It sucks, but for some reason, I do it anyway.

-Mark

no avatar
foweyman

by foweyman » Mon Mar 02, 2009 11:33 am

RickF wrote:I've been running for fitness off & on for the past 34 years (I'm 51). Typically I run every other morning, between 3 and 5 miles. Two summers ago I built up my distance and ran the San Diego Rock & Roll Marathon. I have also done some occasional mountain bike riding over the past 20 years. Then last summer I dusted off my old road bike and joined some friends for a few 30 mile Sunday rides. After bike riding I started feeling some soreness in my knees. Not what I would call pain but more like discomfort. My knees also started making grinding & popping noises. According to conventional wisdom cycling is lower impact and easier on the knees, right? So I backed off the cycling but kept up the running and my knees started feeling better. I might be some freak of nature that is better off running than cycling.

Being concerned that I my blow out a knee while carrying a 60 lb. pack, 10 miles deep into the backcountry, I decided to get checked out by an Orthopedist. After x-rays and MRI's the doc told me yesterday that there is some scaring but no real damage and that I should go ahead and "live my life". The doc also recommended some quad strengthening exercises. Good news for me, no surgery for now!

The conventional wisdom that cycling is easier on the knees than running is only partially true. There is less pounding than running but pressure is applied when the knee is more bent which puts stress on different parts of the knee (also true of the hip). Cycling is also typically a more prolonged activity. Cycling knee problems can also result from too low rpms and slight misalignments of the foot and knee.

RickF

by RickF » Tue Mar 03, 2009 12:41 am