Edelweiss Axis dry rope?

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
Luciano136

Edelweiss Axis dry rope?

by Luciano136 » Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:41 pm

Any opinions on this rope? Seems very well priced. 10.3mm, dry.

aedwards

by aedwards » Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:49 pm

I've got one. I'm fairly new to climbing and got a really good deal on it.
I've had it out about 7 times.
It's worked well, is a bit stiff, and kinks some. I've only had it out on nice summer days, so I can't speak for the dry coating either. Reviews on other climbing sites have been good, from people with considerably more experience than I have.

So, my noob review, is: It's pretty alright.

Luciano136

by Luciano136 » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:04 pm

Pretty noob myself :) . Figured it could be a good starter rope :)

no avatar
The Chief

by The Chief » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:23 pm

The Axis is a very heavy rope!!

I recommend ya consider this one instead for the same price...

Edelweiss Flashlight 10mm x 60M Bi-Pattern Dynamic Rope

Or this one for $15.00 cheaper....

Edelweiss Zen 9.6mm x 60M Dynamic Rope

If do not plan on using it in a wet/ice environment and as a starter rope, ya can't beat these values.

Luciano136

by Luciano136 » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:48 pm

Thanks Chief! I think it should mostly be dry weather rock climbing. What if you do get in a storm and the rope gets wet or iced up, is that a big problem?

no avatar
The Chief

by The Chief » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:57 pm

Luciano136 wrote:Thanks Chief! I think it should mostly be dry weather rock climbing. What if you do get in a storm and the rope gets wet or iced up, is that a big problem?

If the cord gets wet then freezes, it turns into a solid cable and totally unmanageable.

If you are just gonna play in dry areas, I recommend that you don't really need a "DRY" cord.

Luciano136

by Luciano136 » Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:02 pm

The Chief wrote: