ADVICE Needed for Amateur and his Boots

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
aleksi

ADVICE Needed for Amateur and his Boots

by aleksi » Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:20 am

Hello SP

I have all worn out question (for you) about the boots-boots-boots

And as an amateur I really need your help

So: plans are trekking and mountaineering (but question is about trekking boots mainly), mainly during Summer, Spring and Autumn

Terrain: hell knows what type of, from basic village roads to very very rough terrain, including the base camps, glaciers, mud, cold, dusty, hot, rainy, rocks, rivers and etc. (including runaway episodes from bears and volwes :D )

I do not really accept advices from online sources, considering the fact that under-the-table money can bring high scores to some specific manufacturers

And my wallet is a bit on diet, so paying for boots must be a clever investment

My current choices are; SCARPA TPS 520s, Asolo Revert, Scarpa Nangpa-La or LaSportiva Thunder III

Would you recommend anything specific? Any boot among those written?

Thank you for advice

no avatar
aleksi

Re: ADVICE Needed for Amateur and his Boots

by aleksi » Thu Sep 10, 2015 11:20 am

No advice or suggestions at all? :(

nartreb

by nartreb » Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:55 pm

My advice is to wear shoes that are comfortable. I don't wear boots at all unless I'm going to encounter snow and ice.

There is no boot on the planet that will work well in all the situations you listed: "hot... cold... rainy... rivers" so what do you expect folks to tell you?

What to get really depends on where you're going.

Here is how you choose a boot, in rough order of importance:
0) FIT If it doesn't fit, it will hurt your feet, and you'll be miserable.
1) crampon compatibility. If you're going ice climbing, you don't want your crampons falling off! But if you don't need crampons, you can choose a softer, lighter, cooler boot.