DO I GO? CAN I DO IT? Himalayas/Nepal/Island Peak

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Asia. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Asia Climbing Partners section.
tmchlst

DO I GO? CAN I DO IT? Himalayas/Nepal/Island Peak

by tmchlst » Wed Aug 12, 2015 12:25 pm

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to this scene, and I've fallen head over heels with climbing/trekking and just want to make sure I'm not overreaching before I book this next trip to Nepal.

Here's a little background on me:

My friends and I started out innocently enough, with not-so-challenging weekend hikes in Snoqualmie, Washington (outside Seattle) found through friends' recommendations. Once a week, we would continually up the ante, pushing a little farther from sea level every weekend.

5 hours at a time up in the snow-hooded Cascades was not enough. A gain of 600ft quickly became boring. So we stepped it up a notch. We set our crosshairs on the knobbly summit of Mt. St. Helens.

With minimal experience and no real gear, we summitted St. Helens very easily. Feeling accomplished but unsatisfied, we turned our gaze to her taller neighbor, Mt. Adams. After renting crampons and ice axes, YouTubing how to climb a glacier, and googling routes, we met our first true test.

We spent the night at over 6,500ft to acclimate, and got a true alpine start at around 3am. 14 hours of climbing/trekking in a day was exhausting- not to mention it was our first climb above 10,000ft. I was instantly hooked.

The most irresistible feeling in mountaineering for me is the one of complete mindfulness: being exclusively where you are right now. Not off in la-la land thinking about plans for dinner, or that project you have going on at work. You're not day dreaming about the weekend. You think solely and entirely of your next step, and your safety. I used to be a long distance runner and got a similar feeling during races.