Report Bugs Here

Suggestions and comments about SummitPost's features, policies, and procedures. Post bugs here.
User Avatar
Hotoven

 
Posts: 1864
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 8:06 pm
Thanked: 118 times in 89 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Hotoven » Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:50 pm

I just did a few gear reviews and when uploading the photos, I saw the GPX File upload option. I tried it and it kept giving me a white page saying:

insert_column_data() failed: DB Error: no such field

I still got my photos up but used the old method of attaching an existing photo. It takes longer that way but at least my photos are up.

Has anyone else had this problem or just myself?
"Hey, careful, man, there's a beverage here!"
- The Dude, Lebowski

User Avatar
PAROFES

 
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 5:06 pm
Thanked: 180 times in 49 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by PAROFES » Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:22 pm

I can't edit my pages...
To upload one photo means to be waiting for about 6 to 7 minutes.
Obviously something's wrong again.

Am I the only one with those problems?

User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3312
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1006 times in 620 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:30 pm

I do admit editing pages takes a mighty time longer than it should. Not sure how much this would help SP, but I optimized my websites speed by using a extension that combines all css files into one, compresses it, and compresses javascripts and html. This made my site much faster. I now have to wonder if there are some fairly simple things SP could do to optimize the speed once again. For the most part SP is running fine except for page edits. :x

The following user would like to thank Josh Lewis for this post
chugach mtn boy

User Avatar
mvs

 
Posts: 1044
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 7:44 pm
Thanked: 283 times in 109 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by mvs » Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:17 pm

Hotoven wrote:I just did a few gear reviews and when uploading the photos, I saw the GPX File upload option. I tried it and it kept giving me a white page saying:

insert_column_data() failed: DB Error: no such field

I still got my photos up but used the old method of attaching an existing photo. It takes longer that way but at least my photos are up.

Has anyone else had this problem or just myself?


Maybe the database for spgear didn't get the schema upgrade from when summitpost got the GPX feature (just my random uninformed guess)...

The following user would like to thank mvs for this post
Hotoven

User Avatar
Baarb

 
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 6:42 pm
Thanked: 43 times in 30 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Baarb » Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:18 pm

Just uploaded a photo and while trying to use the map to put in the right coordinates there was no balloon to mark the right spot. Either I'm very confused or it's gone missing temporarily.

User Avatar
Bubba Suess

 
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:15 pm
Thanked: 183 times in 105 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Bubba Suess » Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:29 pm

Baarb wrote:Just uploaded a photo and while trying to use the map to put in the right coordinates there was no balloon to mark the right spot. Either I'm very confused or it's gone missing temporarily.


The greater, though related problem popped up the other day. When trying to view the interactive maps showing the peaks in an area, none of the balloons appear and the signature images that appear in a column on the left are all broken. The links for the mountains on the map, though not visible, are still functioning.

User Avatar
Baarb

 
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 6:42 pm
Thanked: 43 times in 30 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Baarb » Sun Nov 27, 2011 3:23 am

Ah yes, how curious. Just noticed that around 10,000 users are no longer listed in the 'People' list. Is there an explanation for that? Some kind of mass purge of commercial accounts?

User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3312
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1006 times in 620 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Sun Nov 27, 2011 4:44 am

Which purge? I believe 20,000 or more users were purged a few months ago.

User Avatar
Baarb

 
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 6:42 pm
Thanked: 43 times in 30 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Baarb » Sun Nov 27, 2011 4:54 am

Well in the last few weeks at least there were around 35,000 people listed, now there are 25,000 or so.

User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3312
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1006 times in 620 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:35 am

I also noticed the google maps balloon not showing up. :x This happens when using firefox 8, but then when I use internet explorer 8 the balloons appear. For many reasons I don't want to swap to IE. :wink: So is there anyone else having this problem? This makes mapping pages in the right coordinates more difficult, which I consider accurate coordinates important to SP.

User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 3312
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Thanked: 1006 times in 620 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Josh Lewis » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:01 pm

I got a huge error message that would not allow me to exit out of which I had to close out of the tab. Here is a screen shot:
error.JPG
error.JPG (148.9 KiB) Viewed 477 times

User Avatar
Bubba Suess

 
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:15 pm
Thanked: 183 times in 105 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Bubba Suess » Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:39 am

Josh Lewis wrote:I also noticed the google maps balloon not showing up. :x This happens when using firefox 8, but then when I use internet explorer 8 the balloons appear. For many reasons I don't want to swap to IE. :wink: So is there anyone else having this problem? This makes mapping pages in the right coordinates more difficult, which I consider accurate coordinates important to SP.


Is there anything that can be done about this? It is getting annoying.

User Avatar
mrchad9

 
Posts: 4482
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:01 am
Thanked: 1316 times in 895 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by mrchad9 » Sat Dec 03, 2011 7:54 pm

Bubba Suess wrote:
Josh Lewis wrote:I also noticed the google maps balloon not showing up. :x This happens when using firefox 8, but then when I use internet explorer 8 the balloons appear. For many reasons I don't want to swap to IE. :wink: So is there anyone else having this problem? This makes mapping pages in the right coordinates more difficult, which I consider accurate coordinates important to SP.


Is there anything that can be done about this? It is getting annoying.

The map balloons don't show up for me using IE, and for me the map feature is one of the most important features on the site.

When can this be fixed Matt?

User Avatar
Baarb

 
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 6:42 pm
Thanked: 43 times in 30 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by Baarb » Sat Dec 03, 2011 8:28 pm

Might be something on Google's end, I know they pulled access for a lot of translation stuff recently.

User Avatar
mrchad9

 
Posts: 4482
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:01 am
Thanked: 1316 times in 895 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

by mrchad9 » Sat Dec 03, 2011 8:38 pm

Baarb wrote:Might be something on Google's end, I know they pulled access for a lot of translation stuff recently.

Well then Matt can communicate that issue to them, if that is what it is. Maybe pull their ads from this site until they get things fixed... they certainly have a lot of ads here.

Better than doing nothing.

PreviousNext

Return to Site Feedback

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests