Complete newbie here, looking for advice

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
ruggersp

Complete newbie here, looking for advice

by ruggersp » Fri Feb 20, 2015 8:59 pm

Hi all, I'm 28 years old and I would like to start working towards some mountaineering. I climbed a fair amount in high school (just bouldering and sport routes), but it has been quite some time. In college I started playing rugby and got up to 240 lbs which made climbing not very feasible. It had always been a dream of mine to climb some of the higher mountains though, and even though my thoughts drifted away from climbing for the past decade or so, recently I just have not been able to get the Himalayas, Andes, etc. out of my head. I can't foresee even having the resources to attempt a serious expedition for several years and I suppose I am more cautious of a person than most climbers I have known. I don't want to try tackling anything big until I feel very confident in my skills. I'm not even sure where the place to hone this skills would be as I don't really personally know people who climb anymore and I live in the southern Appalachians. I plan on doing some fourteeners in the Rockies in the near future but from all I've read there isn't anything that technical, which is just fine with me. Something like Aconcagua seems attractive; really high and not so difficult. But I would like to progress to something a bit more challenging, that not just anybody can get up.So where to start? What are some good things to read, peaks to set my early sights on, activities that could help me prepare (like do I need to get back into sport or even trad climbing, or do I need to start making trips for ice climbing?), etc. I have a degree in exercise physiology so I'm confident I can be optimally conditioned for just about any climb if necessary. Thanks for the help!

cab

Re: Complete newbie here, looking for advice

by cab » Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:10 pm