Sierra west side weekend trip advice

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
goldenhopper

Sierra west side weekend trip advice

by goldenhopper » Mon Sep 02, 2013 8:59 pm

I'm looking for a good 3/4 day backpack on the west side north of SEKI to South Yosemite/south of Yosemite as I'm meeting some friends coming from the Sacramento area that have little experience and stamina. Outside of winter trips I have little personal experience of the western slopes of the Sierra. It would be nice to start high enough to beat the heat without having to do any major passes because my group will be limited physically. Would like to end up at a lake of by a major river.

Was thinking...

Ostrander Lake/Heart Lake via Bridalveil Creek.
Dinky Lakes
Jenny Lake area

What is camping like near Bearpaw Meadow in the summer? Crowded?

Thanks folks...

96avs01

Re: Sierra west side weekend trip advice

by 96avs01 » Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:35 am

Recommend Dinkey Lakes, and would like to get into Jenny Lakes at some point.

Cliff Lake

Dogtooth Peak / 3 Sisters Panorama

Dogtooth Peak Alpenglow

colinr

by colinr » Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:32 am

Given your parameters, I'd rate Dinkey Lakes as the best of the above options. From Willow Meadow TH, you would hike in 1.2 miles to a junction. From the junction you could make a loop, passing by 4 lakes in as little as about 4.3 miles and with very little mandatory elevation gain. If the group can handle more than 6.7 miles round trip and is willing to take on some moderate hills, there are several options to increase the mileage or to make daytrips from camp by visiting several other lakes. If feeling ambitious, daytrips from Island Lake to the Three Sisters highpoint seems like a possibility.