Looking for feedback on my training plan for Rainier

Tips, tricks, workouts, injury advice.
no avatar
cdnstig

Looking for feedback on my training plan for Rainier

by cdnstig » Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:27 am

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to mountaineering and was wondering if if could get feedback on my workout plan for summiting Rainier in May 2015. It will be a guided climb and the company is RMI. Some quick background info - I'm in my late 20's and I live in the Toronto (Canada) area (flat lands). I've accomplished some fairly challenging physical events including many half-marathons and this year, a full marathon.

My plan consists of the following:

Strength: The program is Wendler's 5/3/1 - primary goal of the program is to build strength by lifting heavy. I've been doing his for 2 years.

Cardio: Running with an altitude mask. I run typically 45min-1.5 hours, alternating between just a simple jogging pace one day, intervals the other day. The altitude mask simulates 3000 ft (and keeps my face warm I the winter). Been doing this for many years.

Balance/Stretching: Yoga. Fairly new to this - so the game plan is to do it once a week.

On weekends, I have started going up north where we have ski resorts and just walking up/down the hills. The elevation gain is only 80-100 meters. Presently I can last about 2-2.5 hours of constant marching up and down. The goal is to be able to do it for 6-7 hours straight (Well... Few breaks here and there to refuel). I also walk the hills with a backpack loaded with approx 20 lbs of water. I'd like to up that eventually to 50-60 pounds.

I basically alternate strength and cardio daily. Friday is yoga. Weekends I'm climbing the hills up north. I try to reserve 2 days for rest. Essentially I am working out 5 times a week.