d-SLR cameras

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
peninsula

by peninsula » Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:25 am

Carbo wrote:Have you noticed if the battery life got better with several charge-use cycles? That seemed to help the for the D200 users.

I can't say I have noticed a difference after several months of using my D-80 regarding improvement with battery life. It is possible part of my perception with the battery life is the fact that I started shooting sports photography of my kids with the D-80. When doing this, I shoot in the "Sports Mode", which means the camera is constantly focusing as I try to catch good action photos. I can use up 2/3 to 3/4 of an entire battery during a one hour soccer match. I'll shoot 150 shots, JPEG Fine. I'll be editing out shots with my view finder during half-time breaks or time outs. So the camera is going constantly. Nonetheless, it does seem to me, the D-80 burns through batteries more quickly. When backpacking with my D-50 last year, one battery got me through the entire 5-day trip. I was shooting RAW with the mode set in A, S, or P. Sorry I don't have a more scientific appraisal. I figure to have a better idea when I take my D-80 on my next backpack trip in August.

And btw, both batteries for my D-80 were purchased independently and have not been on any recall list, and they both are similar in terms of duration before needing recharged. And I do recharge them before they go dead.

Carbo

by Carbo » Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:53 am

Well a guess a backup battery will be the way to go. Checking dpreview it seems that some have better luck than others but all seems to get somewhat fewer pics than they did with D50 or D70

Diego Sahagún

by Diego Sahagún » Tue Jun 05, 2007 2:02 am

Anyone know how to open RAW images :?: I have a few but can't open them

radson

by radson » Tue Jun 05, 2007 3:29 am