3 days trek on Hochschwab and Häuselalm hut

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Europe. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Europe Climbing Partners section.
visentin

3 days trek on Hochschwab and Häuselalm hut

by visentin » Thu May 06, 2010 9:55 am

I'm trying to find informations about this hut. Looks like it's not open full time.
Did anyone sleep in it, and is there any phone number ?
Last edited by visentin on Mon May 10, 2010 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

visentin

by visentin » Thu May 06, 2010 11:13 am

Havala Borut !

visentin

by visentin » Mon May 10, 2010 1:09 pm

As I was in Austria last week end I bought a couple of maps including the Rax area and the Hochschwab.
I'm particularly interested in the Hochschwab despite it's slightly more distant; it's not a high mountain but it seems to be a very beautiful and interesting massif.
As I studied the map I wondered how this mountain could be visited during 2 or 3 days, visiting all interesting features on it (tops, lakes, beautiful spots).
Any suggestions ?

Ski Mountaineer

by Ski Mountaineer » Mon May 10, 2010 1:20 pm

you can traverse it in 3 days. Bodenbauer --> Schiestlhaus --> Sonnschienhütte --> Polster --> Präbichl.
Hochschwab has lost quite a bit of its wild character, but it is still a beautiful tour, particularly in late summer and fall.
The lower northern parts (around wildalpen) may be less touched, I am not sure. Seckauer Alpen, albeit different in character, I prefer to it. Alternatively you can hike from Eisenerzer Reichenstein to Admonter Reichenstein in 2 days or so. Popular "insider" route

Peter

visentin

by visentin » Mon May 10, 2010 1:46 pm

Ski Mountaineer wrote:you can traverse it in 3 days. Bodenbauer --> Schiestlhaus --> Sonnschienhütte --> Polster --> Präbichl.
Hochschwab has lost quite a bit of its wild character, but it is still a beautiful tour, particularly in late summer and fall.