Recommendation for identifying peaks of the Pioneers

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Northern Rockies. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Northern Rockies Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
buckleez

Recommendation for identifying peaks of the Pioneers

by buckleez » Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:22 pm

I am just an amateur hiker who enjoys a day on the trail with my dogs. I explored the Hyndman Creek trails this summer and now that I am back home, I am having trouble telling one peak from the other in my photos. I have some great photos of that area in all its fall splendor but I would like to label with some certainty the peaks in the pictures. Aside from a topo map,does anyone have a suggestion about how I can identify the peaks in panoramic photos taken from the Pioneer Cabin looking east, from the Hyndman Basin, and from Big Basin? I am new to this forum so please excuse my inexperience. Many thanks.

Tonka

Re: Recommendation for identifying peaks of the Pioneers

by Tonka » Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:21 pm

I promise that if you post the pic it will get labeled. Until you do that I'm not sure what to say.

peakhugger

by peakhugger » Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:51 pm

Google earth with a topo overlay should do the trick, if you want to do it yourself.

- import a topo layer (or you may be able to just us the "Borders and Labels" within GE if the peaks are labeled), e.g. http://services.arcgisonline.com/ArcGIS/rest/services/USA_Topo_Maps/MapServer
- navigate to the view where you shot the photo,
- select View -> "Make this my starting location" to easily get back to that spot,
- navigate to a peak to determine it's name (activating a topo layer if necessary)
- click "starting location" to return to the spot you shot the photo
- repeat

awilsondc

by awilsondc » Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:07 pm