Wyoming County Highpoints

Wyoming, United States, North America
Page Type Page Type: List
Sign the Climber's Log


Anyone who sets out to collect Wyoming county highpoints is in for an interesting exercise in climbing difficult mountains, hunting for unnamed and sometimes elusive points on county and state borders, and dealing with the headache of contacting and working with private landowners who may or may not be sympathetic to this obscure pastime. Three of the twenty most challenging county highpoints in the contiguous United States are found in Wyoming; these difficult peaks, known as "apex" highpoints, are determined by people who have vast experience with the different county highpoints. Gannett Peak, the Washakie Needles, and the Grand Teton are all on this list, which takes into account climbing difficulty, length and type of approach, and time required to successfully summit the peak in question.

To date, there are four people who have completed the twenty-one Wyoming county highpoints. On September 15, 1998, Bob Packard became the first to accomplish the feat, and since then, Parnell Taylor (1999), Jobe Wymore (2004), and Adam Helman (2008) have also finished the list. Please let me know if you or someone you know has reached all of these highpoints, and I will add them to this page.
Source: www.cohp.org

Wyoming County Highpoints List

Note: Peaks without SP pages are linked to the Lists of John site.
Rank Image Peak Name County Elevation Prominence YDS Class Quad Map Link
1 Gannett Peak Fremont & Sublette 13,804 7,076 4 Gannett Peak Map
2 Grand Teton Teton 13,770 6,550 5.4 Grand Teton Map
3 Cloud Peak Big Horn & Johnson 13,167 7,077 2 Cloud Peak Map
4 Francs Peak Park 13,153 4,056 2 Francs Peak Map
5 Washakie Needles Hot Springs 12,518 1,347 5.2 Monument Peak Map
6 Medicine Bow Peak Albany 12,013 3,243 2 Medicine Bow Peak Map
7 Carbon County HP Carbon 11,920 0 2 Medicine Bow Peak Map
8 Wyoming Peak Lincoln 11,378 3,558 1 Wyoming Peak Map
9 No Image Sheridan County HP Sheridan 11,020 800 4 Dome Lake Map
10 No Image Uinta County HP Uinta 9,790 40 N/A Elizabeth Mountain Map
11 Washakie County Highpoint Washakie 9,620 160 2 Meadowlark Lake Map
12 No Image Pine Mountain Sweetwater 9,550 1,273 1 Red Creek Ranch Map
13 No Image Warbonnett Peak Converse 9,414 1,745 2+ Warbonnett Peak Map
14 No Image Mine Benchmark Natrona 9,121 1,741 1 Badwater NE Map
15 No Image Twin Benchmark Laramie 8,146 356 2 Buford Map
16 No Image Platte County HP Platte 7,230 0 1 Indian Guide Map
17 No Image Cement Ridge HP Crook 6,674 574 2 Old Baldy Mountain Map
18 No Image Weston County HP Weston 6,630 0 2 Buckhorn Map
19 No Image Goshen County HP Goshen 6,130 960 1 Rawhide Buttes West Map
20 No Image Niobrara County HP Niobrara 6,110 505 2 Silver Springs Map
21 No Image North Butte Campbell 6,052 842 2 North Butte Map

Trip Reports and Access Issues

This section provides links to trip reports for the Wyoming County Highpoints that are found on SummitPost and www.cohp.org. The highpoints for Campbell, Niobrara, Platte, and Uinta counties are located on or are reached by crossing through private land. Of the four, Uinta is the most problematic to reach, as the owner is known to have denied multiple requests to reach this spot.

Three counties (Niobrara, Platte, and Washakie) have multiple highpoints that fall within the same contour lines, so bring your GPS and read the trip reports for help on determining where the actual highest point is; in some cases, it might be necessary to visit several spots to ensure that you have tagged the point in question.

Gannett Peak
Grand Teton
Cloud Peak
Francs Peak
Washakie Needles
Medicine Bow Peak
Carbon County HP
Wyoming Peak
Sheridan County HP
Uinta County HP
Washakie County HP
Pine Mountain
Warbonnett Peak
Mine Benchmark
Twin Benchmark
Platte County HP
Cement Ridge HP
Weston County HP
Goshen County HP
Niobrara County HP
North Butte

To peruse other trip reports, visit the Wyoming page on the COHP website.



Children refers to the set of objects that logically fall under a given object. For example, the Aconcagua mountain page is a child of the 'Aconcagua Group' and the 'Seven Summits.' The Aconcagua mountain itself has many routes, photos, and trip reports as children.